The databases listed here are useful for finding background information or information in newspapers or popular magazines.
These databases cover national news across many papers, providing various perspectives.
These search engines each cover one mainstream newspaper.
You can locate reliable facts, summaries of topics from dictionaries and encyclopedias, and background information about topics using resources such as CREDO on our Facts/Definitions page.
Follow the scholarly conversation through books. See what's available here at SXU with our local catalog, then branch out into the state of Illinois with the I-Share catalog (use the drop-down menu). You can also search specifically for SXU's electronic book collection.
SimplyAnalytics (previously SimplyMap) contains United States census data, business data, and business points that can be manipulated and mapped. You can rank locations based on variables, create demographic analyses, and map variables to the county or sometimes the census Block. If you sign in as a guest, you won’t need to create an account. Accounts are needed only to save search parameters and data results. (Information and help video page.)
SocioWeb: A Guide to Sociology and Sociological Research Covers education, employment, theorists, listservs, and other catagories of interest to sociologists.
SocioSite: Social Science Information System Links to relevant information and resources for sociologists and other social scientists.
H-Net: Humanities & Social Sciences Online Contains lists and web sites for peer reviewed essays, multimedia materials, and discussion for colleagues and the interested public.
Latino Cultures in the US an extensive collection that features dozens of curated online exhibits and thousands of digitized items. This extensive site is the result of collaboration with many museums and cultural institutions, including The Smithsonian, the National Museum of Mexican Art, the National Hispanic Cultural Center Foundation, and many more.