Food & Culture: Cookbooks & Recipes

Curated Collections

Looking for lots of cookbooks? These collections are a great place to get started.

• Boston Public Library Cookbook Collection housed on the Internet Archive
• Carson Gulley Cookbook Collection from the University of Wisconsin Madison
• Cookbooks and culinary arts manuals (as well as other books) from Virginia Tech University Library
• Cookbooks and Home Economics at the Internet Archive
• Culinary History and Cookbook Digital Archive at the Texas Woman's University 
• Early American Cookbooks curated by New York University and housed on HathiTrust
• Feast Afrique Digital Library, curated by Nigerian food writer and culinary anthropologist Ozoz Sokoh (the Kitchen Butterfly) and includes cookery pertaining to food of Africa and the African diaspora. 
• Feeding America cookbook collection from Michigan State University Library 
• Feeding Michigan cookbook collection from the Michigan State University Library
• Historic Cookbook Collection curated by the University Library at Johnson and Wales University
• Little Cookbooks collection at the Michigan State University Library includes a selection of promotional cookbooks and more, most from the United States
• Mexican Cookbook Collection at the University of Texas San Antonio (additional information on the collection)
• Recipe for Victory: Food and Cooking in Wartime from the University of Wisconsin-Madison includes cookbooks, government publications, and more, all digitized. (Some may be easier to read if downloaded.)
• Service Through Sponge Cake (joint project of Indiana University & Indianapolis Public Library) includes Indiana-centered historical cookbooks
• South Caroliniana Cookbook Collection includes cookbooks, pamphlets, and other recipe collections pertaining to South Carolina between 1832-1921.
• Szathmary Culinary Manuscripts and Cookbooks from the University of Iowa 
• Szathmary Recipe Pamphlets from the University of Iowa 

Selected Stand-Alone Cookbooks

• Cookbooks available in full view from Google Books
• Cookbooks at HathiTrust Digital
• Cookbooks available through WikiSource
• The Wikimedia Cookbook is a large (and growing!) collection of world recipes, housed on Wikimedia Commons. The link is to the English language version; other languages are available as well. Select from the language options on the left-hand sidebar, including German, Spanish, French, and Tagalog.

Recipes & Food Preparations

• A Guide to Brewing Uji-cha Tea from Kyoto Prefecture on Google Arts and Culture includes step-by-step photos of the Uji-cha process.
• Màmá Àshàké's Hot Àmàlà recipe from the Centenary Project on Google Arts and Culture includes step-by-step photos of Màmá Àshàké's process. 

Available at SXU

cookbooks in the SXU catalog

Available in i-Share

cookbooks available through i-Share