So you're studying World History after 1500? Start here!
- Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History, and Diplomacy, Yale University Law School
- Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes
- Bibliotecas UNAM include digitized archival books (in Spanish)
- CARLI Digital Collections: This collection focuses mostly (but definitely not entirely!) on sources from the Americas.
- De Re Militari: This focuses on military-related primary sources from the Roman era through the 16th century, with some resources going past 1500.
- Digital Bodleian, from Oxford University's Bodleian Libraries
- Digital Newberry (the Newberry Library's digital collections)
- Digital Transgender Archive contains photos, texts, and more.
- Digital Transgender Archives, a project of the University of Victoria's Transgender Archives
- Enslaved: Peoples of the Historical Slave Trade includes primary source documents from the early 16th century onward, and continues to evolve and grow as more material is added.
- First Blacks in the Americas (aquí en español): This digital archive from the CUNY Dominican Studies Institute explores the lives and histories of people of African descent in La Española and includes archival material, fully transcribed and translated as well as in original scans.
- Google News Archive includes scanned papers from around the world.
- The Guaman Poma Website, Det Kongelige Bibliotek: Includes all images from Guaman Poma de Ayala's c. 1650 Nueva crónica y buen gobierno, intended as a letter to the King of Spain. (It ended up in Denmark; it's a long story.)
- HathiTrust: Contains scanned books, pamphlets, and other documents from a variety of eras and regions and in a variety of languages.
- Internet Archive: Contains scanned books, pamphlets, audiovisual materials, and other documents from a variety of eras and regions and in a variety of languages. Houses the Wayback Machine as well.
- Latin American Pamphlet Digital Collection, Harvard University
- Latin American Posters Collection, Princeton University
- Liberté, Egalité, Fraternité: This collaboration between George Mason University and City University of New York includes primary source documents translated into English, as well as secondary sources on the French Revolution.
- Library of Congress
- Modern History Sourcebook from Fordham University
- NYPL Digital Collections includes a variety of primary source materials from the United States and abroad, ranging from 18th century letters to 20th century fashion plates and beyond.
- Project Gutenberg: Contains scanned books, short stories, and other printed material, from a variety of eras and regions and in a variety of languages. Includes some audio books as well as texts of all new books entering the public domain.
- Wilson Center Digital Archive focuses largely (but not entirely) on the mid-1900s through the Cold War.
