Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music Books: Music Books

Music Books -- Library of Congress Classification

The books in the library are arranged by subject according to the following outline:

 

CLASS M - MUSIC

Subclass M

M1-5000                              Music

M1-1.A15                                            Music printed or copied in manuscript in the United States or the colonies before 1860

M1.A5-3.3                                           Collections

M1.A5-Z                                                               Miscellaneous

M2-2.3                                                  Musical sources

M3-3.3                                                  Collected works of individual composers

M5-1480                                              Instrumental music

M5                                                         Collections

M6-175.5                                                             One solo instrument

M176                                                     Motion picture music

M176.5                                                 Radio and television music

M177-990                                                            Two or more solo instruments

M1000-1075                                                       Orchestra

M1100-1160                                                       String orchestra

M1200-1270                                                       Band

M1350-1366                                                       Other ensembles

M1375-1420                                                       Instrumental music for children

M1470-1480                                                       Aleatory music. Electronic music. Mixed media

M1490                                  Music printed or copied in manuscript before 1700

M1495-2199                                       Vocal music

M1495                                                  Collections

M1497-1998                                                       Secular vocal music

M1497                                                                  Collections

M1500-1527.8                                                                    Dramatic music

M1528-1529.5                                                                    Two or more solo voices

M1530-1609                                                                       Choruses

M1611-1624.8                                                                    One solo voice

M1625-1626                                                                       Recitations with music

M1627-1853                                                                       Folk, national and ethnic music

M1900-1985                                                                       Songs of specific groups or on specific topics

M1990-1998                                                                       Secular vocal music for children

M1999-2199                                                       Sacred vocal music

M1999                                                                  Collections

M2000-2007                                                                       Dramatic music

M2010-2017.6                                                                    Choral services, etc.

M2018-2019.5                                                                    Two or more solo voices

M2020-2101.5                                                                    Choruses

M2102-2114.8                                                                    One solo voice

 

M2115-2146                                                                       Hymnals. Hymn collections

M2147-2188                                                                       Liturgy and ritual

M2190-2196                                                                       Sacred vocal music for children

M2198-2199                                                                       Popular religious and devotional music

M5000                                  Unidentified compositions

 

Subclass ML

 

ML1-3930                            Literature on music

ML1-5                                   Periodicals. Serials

ML12-21                                               Directories. Almanacs

ML25-28                                               Societies and other organizations

ML29-31                                               Special collections

ML32-33                                               Institutions

ML35-38                                               Festivals. Congresses

ML40-44                                               Programs

ML45                                     Circulars and advertisements

ML46                                     Scrapbooks

ML47-54.8                                           Librettos. Texts. Scenarios

ML55-89                                               Aspects of the field of music as a whole

ML93-96.5                                           Manuscript studies and manuscripts

ML100-109                                          Dictionaries. Encyclopedias

ML110-111.5                                      Music librarianship

ML112-112.5                                      Music printing and publishing

ML112.8-158.8                                   Bibliography

ML159-3785                                        History and criticism

ML159-161                                                          General works

ML162-197                                                          By period

ML198-360.6                                                      By region or country

ML385-429                                                          Biography

ML430-458                                                          Composition and performance

ML459-1380                                                        Instruments and instrumental music

ML1400-3275                                                     Vocal music

ML3300-3351                                                     Program music

ML3400-3465                                                     Dance music

ML3469-3541                                                     Popular music

ML3544-3776                                                     Folk, national, and ethnic music

ML3780                                                Music on particular topics

ML3785                                                Musical journalism

ML3790-3792                                     Music trade

ML3795                                Music as a profession. Vocational guidance

ML3797-3799.5                                  Musical research

ML3800-3923                                     Philosophical and societal aspects of music. Physics and                 acoustics of music. Physiological aspects of music

ML3800                                                General works

 

ML3805-3817                                                     Physics and acoustics

ML3820                                                Physiological aspects of music

ML3830-3840                                                     Psychology

ML3845-3877                                                     Aesthetics

ML3880-3915                                                     Criticism

ML3916-3918                                                     Social and political aspects of music

ML3919-3920                                                     Moral influence of music.  Therapeutic use of music

ML3921-3921.8                                                  Religious aspects of music

ML3922                                                Music in the workplace

ML3928-3930                                     Literature for children

 

Subclass MT

 

MT1-960                              Instruction and study

MT1                                       General works

M2.5                                      Music study abroad

MT3-5                                   History

MT5.5-7                                               Music theory

MT9-15                                 Printed pedagogical aids

MT9                                                       Examinations, exercises, etc.

MT10                                                     Teachers= and supervisors= manuals, etc.

MT15                                                     Charts, diagrams, etc.

MT17                                     Music in special education

MT18                                     Music in colleges and universities

MT20-34                                              Systems and methods

MT35-39                                              Notation

MT40-67                                              Composition. Elements and techniques of music

MT68                                     Improvisation. Accompaniment. Transposition

MT70-74                                              Instrumentation and orchestration

MT75                                     Interpretation

MT80                                     Embellishment

MT82                                     Memorizing

MT85                                     Conducting. Score reading and playing

MT87                                     Community music

MT88                                     Administration and instruction of vocal groups

MT90-146                                            Analysis and appreciation of musical works

MT150                                  Audio-visual aids

MT155                                  Music theory for children

MT165                                  Tuning

MT170-810                                          Instrumental techniques

MT179-258                                                          Keyboard instruments

MT259-338                                                          Stringed instruments. Bowed stringed instruments

MT339-533                                                          Wind instruments

MT539-654                                                          Plucked instruments

MT655-725                                                          Percussion and other instruments

 

MT728-735                                                          Ensembles

MT737                                                  Motion picture accompanying

MT740-810                                                          Instrumental techniques for children

MT820-915                                          Singing and vocal technique

MT898-915                                                          Vocal techniques for children

MT918-948                                          School music

MT920-925                                                          Kindergarten

MT930-948                                                          Elementary schools. Junior high schools. High schools

MT949.5                                               Whistling

MT950                                  Music to accompany instruction in ballet, folk dancing, gymnastics, etc.

MT955-956                                          Musical theater

MT960                                  Music in the theater

 

 

SXU and I-Share

After searching the SXU library, use the drop-down arrow to see what other books are available to borrow from I-Share Libraries.

Copyright © 2013 | The Library at Saint Xavier University, 3700 W. 103rd St., Chicago, IL 60655 | Phone (773) 298-3352 | Fax (773) 298-5231 | Email: ask@sxu.libanswers.com | MyMail | MySXU