Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Copyright © 2013 | The Library at Saint Xavier University, 3700 W. 103rd St., Chicago, IL 60655 | Phone (773) 298-3352 | Fax (773) 298-5231 | Email: email@example.com | MyMail | MySXU
The Mexican Revolution in Documents & Newspapers
The Mexican Revolution had a starring role in a lot of newspapers the world over--but, since it was pretty recent, we've also got a lot of documents (and treaties) from the people who fought it themselves.
Newspapers, Newspaper Databases, and Beyond
Some newspaper databases are almost exclusively in Spanish; others are in English.
- Chronicling America, from the Library of Congress, includes largely English-language U.S. newspapers from 1789 to 1963, and includes U.S. coverage of the Mexican Revolution.
- Hemeroteca Nacional Digital de Mexico (HNDM) is an open-access database of Mexican newspapers from roughly 1722 to 2010. All are in the public domain.
- Historic Mexican & Mexican American Press, from the University Libraries at the University of Arizona, contains newspapers in Spanish with a few in English, spanning roughly 1855 to the early 2000s. Each newspaper's entry includes additional information on the periodical itself.
SXU Newspaper Databases of Note
Many of SXU's newspaper databases won't be terribly useful to you in your historical searches--but we've got some historical papers for you to check!
Newspapers, Ephemera, & More
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection series 1 and 2 includes a wide range of material, from broadsheets, newspapers, and letters to literature, speeches, yearbooks, and beyond. Some of their material pertaining to the Mexican Revolution is available under the subject heading "Mexican Revolution, Mexico, 1910-1920.
Documents & Collections
- Archivo General de la Nación offers virtual exhibits as well as primary source documents pertaining to Mexican history through its Google Arts and Culture portal.
- The Genaro García Collection at the University of Texas Libraries includes broadsheets, circulars, and more, all in Spanish.
- Handbook of Latin American Studies from the Library of Congress includes annotations and links to additional information, including material pertaining to the Mexican Revolution. Some material is written in Spanish and some in English.
- Hispanic Reading Room at the Library of Congress includes visual and text based material, some in English and some in Spanish.
- Mexico: Hispanic Division Country Guide from the Library of Congress
- Zapata en la UNAM is an extensive collection of photos, historical documents, and more, pertaining to Emiliano Zapata and the Zapatistas, from el Archivo Histórico de la UNAM in Mexico. Most material is Spanish-language.