Spring 2020 Semester: Large Group Study Spaces
The following rooms are available for larger group project work, from 6:00 p.m. to 10 p.m., M-F.
Mondays L308 and L310
Tuesdays L310 and L317
Wednesdays L310 and L317
Thursdays L308 and L317
Fridays L308 and L317
(January 13, 2020)
Two classrooms in the Andrew Conference Center (ACC) will be available for extended hours use to accommodate Finals study schedules beginning Sunday, December 8. With a valid Cougar Card, students will be able to access classrooms 102 and 103 in the ACC between 8:30 p.m. to 2 a.m. Sunday, December 8 to Thursday, December 12 (until 2 a.m. December 13). Please use 102 for small group work if needed and 103 for quiet study. Please note that classes could be in session in the other classrooms in the building so please be considerate of noise in and around the ACC.
The downstairs Quiet Study Rooms will be reserved for testing from Monday-Wednesday of Finals week. The Main Room remains a quiet area.
Alumni who wish to print in the library must obtain new ID Cards. Request these new cards through the ID Card/NetID form on the Alumni Relations web site. These Alumni ID card requests will automatically update the campus Colleague system, and generate a netID and password that provide access to our databases from our on-campus library workstations. (November 3, 2019)
All students require a new Fall 2019 ID Card in order to print. There is a new interface on the printer release stations - and one must scan the card twice in order to select Print. There is also a new Webprint option for laptops and remote printing requests; it requires the user to select single sided or duplex printing. The public Mac computers require Webprint, as the normal print option does not function. (August 30, 2019)
Upgraded computer workstations are now located in the Main Reading Room and along the south window carrels. Surge protectors are found in the open third row for charging personal laptops. The library does not supply laptop chargers. (March 18, 2019)
New Books are now displayed in a bookshelf to the left as you enter the Main Reading Room.
Nexis Uni is the new interface to Lexis-Nexis. Coverage varies, but includes articles from about 2,000 U.S. and international papers and newswires with an emphasis on legal and business news.
We have replaced three of the printers with new models that should be more reliable. (September 4, 2018)
We have just updated our ezproxy validation server -- which validates you when coming into our resources from off-campus. You will be unable to connect to our resources from off campus if you are using an older bookmark that points to our old proxy server. To access our new server start from the library web pages ... or try replacing the beginning of your old URL (before the "=" symbol) with the following ... https://ezp3.sxu.edu/login?url=
We are delighted to introduce our new User Services Librarian Caitlin Archer-Helke, who will be the liaison for the Humanities and Social Sciences disciplines. (July, 2019)
We wish a happy new era for Librarian James Kusik, who has retired, effective June 29, 2018.
This year marks the centennial of the birth of Gwendolyn E. Brooks (1917–2000), Illinois Poet Laureate, the first black winner of the Pulitzer Prize, and lifelong resident of Chicago. See our Gwendolyn Brooks holdings.
During the month of February, 2019, the library hosted a photographic exhibit that presented selections from the work of Flip Schulke in documenting the Civil Rights Movement, with particular emphasis on his intimate photographs of the family of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.
Google Scholar provides searching of keywords and authors across a wide a selection of academic journals. The searching is not as precise and sophisticated as our subject databases, but in some cases it may be worth using as a supplement to our journal indexes. In order to obtain access to our purchased material you must set the service to connect through our resolver. The details of changing these settings are found at http://lib.sxu.edu/googlescholar
During the time the library is closed, December 22 - January 1, 2018, whenever the campus is open, students have access to all library online tools, standard software (i.e. Word, PPT, etc.), and a printer from the workstations in L130. You will need your ID card to swipe into the room.
HRAF World Cultures database contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life. Search by cultures, subjects, regions, and even subsistence types – with subject indexing at the paragraph level. Subjects that are used in indexing and searching the ethnographic texts in eHRAF are based on the Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM), a vast thesaurus of subject terms and descriptions. Comprehensive summaries in Browse Cultures include topics such as: Economy, History and Cultural Relations, Family and Kinship, Sociopolitical organization, and Religion. Cultures Covered lists the all the cultures, ethnic groups and indigenous people currently included in eHRAF.
Researchers are welcome to explore our new book catalog search interface ... which offers the ability to mark and download records.
On Inauguration Day for President Joyner, Friday, September 29th, the main library spaces will host the afternoon reception, and will therefore be closed from 7:30am until 5pm.
The L127 classroom downstairs will be open as a general quiet study area during this time. There will be a staff member in the classroom for exceptional service requests.
Zotero - the powerful knowledge management tool that allows you to collect, organize, cite, and share your research material - now uses a standalone package with a connector to your browser. You will be asked to upgrade your existing software. The link to your word processor is now embedded automatically.
As of June 29, 2017, we will be using new software to request journal articles (and books from beyond I-Share) from other libraries. The new Borrow From Other Libraries system will require users to log in using your university ID credentials.
If you are unable to connect to our resources from off campus, you may be using an older bookmark that points to our old proxy server that validates your permissions. To access our new server start from the library web pages ... or try replacing the beginning of your old URL (before the "=" symbol) with the following ... https://ezp3.sxu.edu/login?url=
We wish a happy new era for Librarian Dave Kohut, who has retired, effective June 1, 2017.
On Thursday, April 6, at 5pm, in the Library … Bishop Quarter Room, the Resident Peer Academic Leaders (RPAL) and the Library will host the next in a series of Student Debates. The intention is to discuss a hot topic based upon factual supporting materials. The topic is: How Effective is Peaceful Protesting?
There is now a mini-Mac installed in the Haddad Room, and it is connected to the wall monitor. To use this technology you check out the blue bag with the keyboard and mouse from the Circulation Desk. The keyboard plugs into the back of the mini-Mac box. You will need to use the mouse pad, as the optical mouse will not work on the glass table.
On Wednesday, October 12, at 5pm, in the Library … Bishop Quarter Room, the Resident Peer Academic Leaders (RPAL) and the Library will host the first of a new series of Student Debates. The intention is to discuss a hot topic based upon factual supporting materials. The topic is: Marijuana Legalization.
SimplyAnalytics (was Simply Map) – has new content (credit card purchasing data)
We will swapped our business databases content.
Experian SimmonsLOCAL, a database of credit card buying behavior which can be mined in great detail, has replaced the PRIZM categorization of demographic populations..
For example, show us which Zip Codes have populations that:
This new content can be found using the Variables tab.
See a short video of searching the Simply Map tool for Census and business data and mapping and ranking by a variable.
Experian SimmonsLOCAL is a powerful targeting and profiling system that provides insights into consumer behavior for all of America's 210 media markets on a local level with 60,000+ data variables, including over 450 categories and 8,000 specific brands. From the products we buy to the brands we prefer to our attitudes and lifestyles, SimmonsLOCAL reports on the unique nuances of every market. Enjoy the ability to analyze data by State, County, City/Place, ZIP code, Census Tracts, Block Groups, or even custom area.
The Simmons Data Package covers hundreds of categories under general topics including but not limited to:
The library has added a few new first-come (no reservations) study spaces for quiet group work:
The Juvenile Collection has been relocated to the lower level in room 119-C.
The Assessment Kits have been relocated to the small room at the end of the collection on the lower level.
Theology Symposium, John XXIII Institute: Ten of the world's foremost Catholic, Protestant and Orthodox theologians participated in a 4-day symposium sponsored by Saint Xavier College. Each of the theologians delivered an address on a different theological problem confronting Christianity today. The talks were original contributions to the field, with concentrations on the development of doctrine as a prerequisite to the solution of theological differences and units. Some of the topics included combating atheism, women as priests, and the concept of God in relation to man. This volume contains the roster of attendees, biographies of the speakers, and news clippings of the event. The presentations are published as a separate volume: The Word in History; the St. Xavier symposium, edited by T. Patrick Burke. New York, Sheed and Ward . BT80 .B8 1966 Special Collections (Non-Circulating)
You can now check out cables to connect your laptop to the wall monitors in the group study rooms. Ask for them at the Circulation desk.
The Stump Library will suspend physical service hours (CLOSED) from November 25 through 29, and from December 24, 2015 through January 3rd, 2016. The web site will still be functioning, offering the full complement of online access options.
Intersession hours: Dec 14-Jan 9 Mon-Thurs 7:30am-10pm, Friday 7:30am-4:30pm, Saturday noon-7pm, Sunday noon-10pm
SXU maintains a Scholarly Communications web site that highlights key issues surrounding the Open Access movement. The new Alternative Textbook and Open Educational Resources Review Team will be discussing possible actions with our Faculty Senate in the near future. There are a number of international Open Access Week events.
The library is pleased to announce that we now provide a public platform for locally created materials. This institutional repository (IR) can distribute copies of exemplar student works, teaching materials, Faculty Powerpoint presentations, departmental documents and publications, and other items. The first materials loaded are the Exemplar Honors Capstone Project Papers (papers recognized as excellent from the annual Honors submissions). Additional materials to be entered include Mercy & Mission symposium materials. Contact the library if you have materials you are interested in ingesting.
Banned Books Week was September 27- October 3, 2015.
The library is pleased to announce that we now provide a digitized version of the book:
First in Chicago: a History of Saint Xavier University by Joy Clough, RSM (Sisters of Mercy).
We are building a suite of short (2-3 minute) videos demonstrating our basic services, best tools, and knowledge handling strategies. Theses videos should help scholars at a distance, or those looking for immediate assistance. They are located at the top right of our Student Resources page.
The multiple database search tool has been moved, in order to de-emphasize its use as a primary search tool. Experience has shown that users were frequently frustrated by the large and confusing array of results that appeared from searches across so many simultaneous databases.
Most users are better served by starting with either the Core journal index and fulltext database (Academic Search Complete) or the more comprehensive subject-specific journal search tools.
To search the previously highlighted tool select the option under Journal Indexes called "From Multiple Databases".
In all CANVAS courses you will now find the link "SXU Library" near the bottom of the left side column.
This link will present a page of (1) subject pages, (2) course-specific pages, and (3) concept/theme pages.
The intention is to provide point-of-need assistance for any student within the CANVAS environment.
We now have a new option for users when they try to link to journal articles.
In the past, the options were for full text links or interlibrary loan.
Now there is another option:
Search Google for related information
WHY DID WE ADD THIS?
In this new age of Open Access materials, people often load copies of their articles on their own web pages, on Institutional Repositories (campus platforms that hold local materials), or on other sites. In some cases, people will pay to have their articles “free to the world” … which is called hybrid publishing.
Before this new option, our EBSCO resolver only looked for official “paid or subscribed” materials at the journal title level. We would not have found the free articles from other locations or the hybrid material. Much material was hidden from our users because we did not provide comprehensive article level access to materials we did not purchase.
Now, the Google search will locate many of these alternative versions. Of course, it will also find other materials with similar words in the titles, so it will be a new way to navigate and discover all types of related information. And much of this other material may not be peer-reviewed … so people will need to be even more critical when using these results.
Weeding initiative (in two phases)
A team of library staff will be using best practices developed by national consortia to identify potential withdrawals. These lists will be shared with faculty before any actions are taken, and faculty will have an opportunity to see the books on carts before final withdrawals are performed.
Intention: To remove obsolete and unnecessary redundant material, making space for the return of more valuable material from the Offsite Shelving facility.
Phase 1: The Main Stacks
Timeline: November 2014 – June 2015
Each subject librarian will review materials in our main stacks in their subject areas ... considering factors such as currency, historical importance, redundancy, special subject concerns, CARLI consortial holdings, curriculum emphases, and research concentrations. Potential withdrawals from the main stacks will be identified and title lists will be shared with the faculty for review. One last opportunity for faculty review will be provided with reviews of material on carts before final withdrawals are made.
Phase II: The Offsite Shelving Materials
Timeline: after September 2015
Once space has been cleared in the main stacks, we will review the materials now housed in the Offsite Shelving facility ... using similar criteria to determine which items should be (1) returned to the main stacks, (2) left in Offsite Shelving, or (3) withdrawn from the collection. Once again, potential withdrawals from the collection will be identified and title lists will be shared with the faculty for final review before any action is taken.