Skip to main content

Senior Seminar in Reseach Writing: Find Books

Find Books and Videos

The Library has a good collection of literature books.  If we do not have a title you are looking for, use the drop-down arrow to see what other books are available to borrow from I-Share Libraries.  This catalog includes many formats, including movies, manuscripts, and e-Books.

Films on Demand (Search for author, or subject)

Search eBooks and Audiobooks

♦ eBooks and Text and the the Internet Archive. Digitized music, videos, and TV News.

♦ EBL (Electronic Book Library): Results may be viewed online or downloaded. (Download requires an Adobe ID and Adobe Digital Editions (or another ePub Reader app).

♦ EBSCObooks — browse by category. Results may be viewed online or downloaded. (Download requires an Adobe ID and Adobe Digital Editions (or another ePub Reader app).

♦ HathiTrust Digital Library. Preserves and provides access to material scanned by Google, some Internet Archive books, and some scanned locally by partner institutions.

LibriVox Audiobooks: Listen to free audiobooks on your computer, iPod, other mobile device, or burn onto a CD.  LibriVox volunteers record chapters of books in the public domain, and release the audio files back onto the net for free. Most of the texts are from Project Gutenberg, and the Internet Archive hosts the audio files.

Call Numbers (how books are arranged on the shelves)

The Library book collection is arranged in the Library of Congress Classification System that identifies a unique call number for each book. The call number is a series of letters and digits reflecting the subject of the book and its place on the library shelf.

Works in literature and literary criticism are placed in the section of the collection and broken down into areas of individual literatures or subtopics.

PL   Languages & literatures of Eastern Asia, Africa & Oceania

PN   Literature (General)

PQ   French, Italian, Spanish and Portuguese Literature

PR   English Literature

PS   American Literature

PT   German Literature


 

While online, you can browse the collection by subject headings. Here are some examples:

  • Hemingway, Ernest, 1899-1961 Criticism and interpretation.
  • Hemingway, Ernest, 1899-1961 Bibliography.
  • Novelists, American 20th century Biography.
  • Faulkner, William, 1897-1962 Biography.
  • Reader-response theory and criticism

 

Finding Books Using Library of Congress Subject Headings

Discover books on Language and Literature:

Search the online book catalog

In our online catalog, keywords can be used to automatically search across titles, tables of contents, and Library of Congress subject headings.  The subject headings help you find books related to a particular topic.

When you find a good book, click on the book title.  This will take you to a detailed record which includes subject headings.  Click on any subject heading and the catalog will automatically find books related to that subject heading.

Browse books on the shelf

Books are arranged on the shelves using the Library of Congress classification system.  The classification system groups together books related to a particular subject.

This enables books on a particular topic to be located side-by-side, so browse the shelves!

Classification for books on Language and Literature 

Class Subject Heading  
P    Philology Linguistics
PA   Greek language and literature  
  Latin language and literature  
PB Modern languages Celtic languages
PC Romance languages  
PD Germanic languages Scandinavian languages
PE English language  
PF West Germanic languages  
PG Slavic languages Baltic languages
  Albanian language  
PH Uralic languages Basque language
PJ Oriental languages and literatures  
PK Indo-Iranian languages and literatures  
PL Eastern Asia languages and literatures African languages and literatures
  Oceania languages and literatures  
PM Hyperborean languages Indian languages
  Artificial languages  
PN Literature (General)  
PQ French literature Italian literature
  Spanish literature Portuguese literature
PR English literature  
PS American literature  
PT German literature Dutch literature
  Afrikaans literature Danish literature
  Scandinavian literature Swedish literature
  Icelandic literature Old Icelandic literature
  Norwegian literature Old Norwegian literature
  Old Norse literature  
PZ   Fiction and juvenile belles lettres  
Copyright © 2013 | The Library at Saint Xavier University, 3700 W. 103rd St., Chicago, IL 60655 | Phone (773) 298-3352 | Fax (773) 298-5231 | Email: ask@sxu.libanswers.com | MyMail | MySXU