Skip to main content

Racism and Race Relations: News

Racism and Race Relations

Newspapers

Chicago Tribune. Articles from 1985 to the present. For articles from 1849 to 1984, use the Chicago Tribune historical files. Articles are in PDF format, and includes a PDF of the whole page on which the article was found.

Ethnic Newswatch. Articles from over 340 alternative-press newspapers, magazines and journals. Includes the Chicago Citizen (1991-), Chicago Defender (1999-), Chicago Independent Bulletin (1996-2007), Chicago Jewish Star (1993-), Chicago Reporter (2009-), and Chicago Weekend (1992-).

Google News Newspaper ArchiveIncludes hundreds of historic newspapers digitized and/or indexed by Google through their News Archive Partner Program.

Nexis Uni (new interface to Lexis-Nexis). Coverage varies, but includes articles from about 2,000 U.S. and international papers and newswires. Includes the New York Times since 2002.

Library of Congress Chronicling America program. Contains over 450 newspapers dating from 1860-1922. Selections are also available on the program Flickr site.

Newspaper Source. Coverage varies, but includes articles from more than 40 national and international newspapers, and selective full text for almost 400 regional American newspapers. In addition, full text television and radio news transcripts are also provided. Years of coverage vary.

New York Times. Articles from 1851 to 2010. Articles are in PDF format, and includes a PDF of the whole page on which the article was found. For articles after 2010, use Lexis-Nexis.

 

TV News

Search and view transcripts from selected United States TV News programs since 2009. You will have to enter specific terms to receive the results you want.

Copyright © 2013 | The Library at Saint Xavier University, 3700 W. 103rd St., Chicago, IL 60655 | Phone (773) 298-3352 | Fax (773) 298-5231 | Email: ask@sxu.libanswers.com | MyMail | MySXU