During this time of forced online-only collections, our special Library Pandemic Resources page provides some important new additions to online book collections. In some cases, the copyright restrictions for ebooks have been relaxed for this period of time. Start with this page for immediately available resources.
Look for print books covering your topic using our Book Catalog and consider expanding your search to our 90 consortial I-Share libraries.
See our Electronic books page for searching deep into our cluster of available ebooks.
Central Index is a search tool that provides keyword searching across a wide (but not comprehensive) selection of materials: books, journals, videos, web pages, and other sources. It gathers information from many resources and allows you to search across them simultaneously.
Short video showing the basics of searching and downloading materials.
NOTE: You will need to login on the top right to obtain access to the full text material.
NOTE: Use the Expand option on the top left of the results page in order to significantly increase the domain of search tools.
NOTE: Use the Expand option on the top left of the results page to locate/request materials we do not immediately own/lease.
"The HathiTrust Digital Library brings together the immense collections of partner institutions in digital form, preserving them securely to be accessed and used today, and in future generations".
Public domain (free full text) books from this tool are already included in our Central Index.
Here are selected sources of free full-text books for scholarly and academic audience.
Directory of Open Access Books (Launched in April 2012)
Utah State University ---Computers and Composition Digital Press
Columbia University Press Gutenberg-e
"The Gutenberg-e prizewinning books represent the most distinguished and innovative scholarship delivered with creative and thoughtful use of digital technology. These books have undergone a rigorous academic review process by distinguished historians brought together by the American Historical Association and produced through a close collaboration between the authors and the electronic publishing staff at Columbia University Press".
University of California E-Book Collection
"UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004, includes almost 2,000 books from academic presses on a range of topics, including art, science, history, music, religion, and fiction. Access to the entire collection of electronic books is open to all University of California faculty, staff, and students, while more than 500 of the titles are available to the public?.