Skip to main content

Library Statistics: Home

Library Statistics Dashboard

The data below demonstrates the effectiveness of our physical and virtual collections and services.

Library Statistics

 

COLLECTION DATA  FY2021

Paper Books: 75,248  (2018 was 74,719; 2017 was 76,660; 2016 was 101,489)
   68,766 Stacks (includes 2,492 juvenile books and 611 Course Texts, 1,459 Rare Books, 1,305 Oversize)
    3,036 Remote Shelving (1,051 viewable and 2,160 suppressed = 71%) 162 boxes
    1,030 theses in Tech Services storage
    Haddad Collection: 1,855 (994 scores)
    SXU Author Collection: 52

Test Assessments: 70 kits
Archives: 300 cubic feet, 436 University Publications
DVDs: 7,552 (30 new) 
Music CDs: 22
Microforms: few
ebooks: 6,665 individual titles (2632 ProQuest Ebook Central, 1294 Ebscohost among 4035 CARLI) plus 487,622 HathiTrust and ??? OER titles

added: 534 (287 Juvenile)
withdrawn from Stacks: 5 (was 53 in 2018; 6,915 in 2017)
withdrawn from Juvenile: 443 
withdrawn from OSS: 0 (was 53,832 in 2017)  -- 505 identified for early 2022 in 25 boxes
withdrawn from Audiovisual:  0 

CIRCULATION AND USE DATA 

Fulltext Journal Articles: 
 
FY21  200,333 downloads = 15% increase
   Alma resolver: 132,704 (66% unique outside EBSCO content)
               (Central Index vs previous databases: ASC 36,104 FT; CINAHL 12,809; Bus 2921; Edu 2697; MAS/Edu 2273; Medline 2541; RegBusNews 1254)
   EBSCO 67,629 FT = 34% of total (EBSCO internal dbs 5,313) plus resolver link outs : Alma 19,109 (22%) 7986; Google 225?; Tipasa 167?
      Direct publisher articles (16%): 
            Elsevier 14364 -- (2212 journals; top 50 have 4200; top 100 journals contain 6000; half in 159 journals) + 
           JSTOR 11737 , SAGE 1321 (half in top 52 of 329), Ovid 3261 (half in top 15 of 196), MUSE 971, JAMA 179, ACS journals: 49 (33 from JChemEd plus various titles) = 31,882   + PLOS 1092  =  32,974 (est.) 
 
(NOTE: FY20 is Last Year of EDS resolver)
FY20   (+46,370  = 170,999 est) downloads (29% increase);   22,744 through resolver = 13%  and 3,359 Google OA (2%) and 3,174 ILL (2%)
    EBSCOhost: 124,629 downloads = 73% (28% increase in EBSCO downloads over last year)
            EBSCO database details: (ASC 57,641), CINAHL 16,2010, MEDLINE 3,483, EDU 3,188, BUS 2,387, Comm 3683
        resolver: 22,744 outside EBSCO, 10,603 w/in EBSCO, 3,359 Google expanded, 3,174 Tipasa
      Most used within EBSCO: Springer 14600, Taylor&Francis12477, Wiley 10181, BMC 2634, SAGE 2422, Oxford 1713, Hindawi 863, LWW 555, Molecular Diversity Preservation Intl 406, Elsevier 371, Cambridge 279    

      Other direct publisher articles (27%):  Elsevier 16641, SAGE 4459, JSTOR 15374, MUSE 1110, JAMA=186, Ovid 5059, ACS 467 = 43,296 + PLOS 3,074 = 46,370 (est.)
        SCOPUS 5200 searches with 7695 fulltext requests 

 
FY2019    (+33k = 122,820 est) downloads (-19% decrease);   23,822 through resolver = 19%  and 3,524 Google OA (3%) and 3,318 ILL (3%)
    EBSCOhost:  89,820 downloads = 73% (ASC 53,728);  144,512 abstracts;  direct db searches = 87% vs EDS; 162 dbs
        resolver: 23,822 outside EBSCO, 11,225 w/in EBSCO, 3,524 Google expanded, 3,318 Tipasa
    Other direct publisher articles (27%): Elsevier=28,017,SAGE=5,155,JSTOR=12,301,MUSE=1,926,ACS= 467,JAMA=160,Ovid=4,000 = 33k est.
       SCOPUS searches =  5,193 with 1,433 full text requests
       SciFinder  74 searches with ? fulltext requests
       Alexander Street (videos):  searches with  views and Films on Demand  views
       OUP: Grove Music , OED  Encyclopedia 
       Gale Ref Center: 67 searches; New Catholic Encyclopedia 2 searches
       Testing Center:  uses 
 
FY2018   150,085 downloads (9.5% increase);  28,915 through resolver = 19%  
    EBSCOhost: 99,850 downloads = 67% (ASC 55,489); 148,658 abstracts; 205,965 direct db searches = 85%; 30,957 sessions via EDS; 162 dbs
    Other direct publisher articles (33%): Elsevier=19,830,SAGE=9,724,JSTOR=11,075,MUSE=809,ACS=169,JAMA=299,Ovid=5922 = 50,235
       SCOPUS searches = 4,774 with 4425 item requests
       SciFinder 128 searches with 54 fulltext requests
       Alexander Street (videos): 2338 searches with 1,409 views and Films on Demand 2,617 views
       OUP: Grove Music 212, OED 518, Encyclopedia 100
       Testing Center: 178 uses 
 
FY2017  143,877 downloads (17% decrease); 28,000 through resolver = 19%  
    EBSCOhost: 117,858 downloads; 164,725 abstracts; 205,455 direct database searches  = 82%; 32,000 sessions via EDS; 163 dbs
       (97% desktop; 60% Windows, 32% Mac; 52% Chrome, 21% Safari, 27% other browser)  
    Other direct publisher articles: Elsevier 18,769-4802=13,967, SAGE 3878-2320=1558, JSTOR 10,558-885=9673, MUSE 806-175=631, ACS 169, JAMA 326-136=190) = 26,019
 
LONGITUDINAL FULL TEXT USE DATA:
FY2021  187,928 downloads  52,670 through resolver = 28%; 9% use increase
                EBSCOhost pulls 22% through resolver, Central Index/EBSCOhost = 64/36%
FY2020  170,999 downloads  22,744 through resolver =13%; 29% use increase
FY2019  122,820 downloads  23,822 through resolver =19%; -19% use decrease
FY2018  150,085 downloads  28,915 through resolver =19%; 9.5% use increase
FY2017  143,877 downloads (79/21 pdf/html)  28,000 through resolver = 19%; 17% decrease (removed PsycARTICLES)
FY2016  171,690 downloads   (80/20)  19,388 through resolver = 11%;  17% increase
FY2015  143,993 downloads   (pdf/html = 82/22%)  105,405 through EDS (73%), 16,521 through resolver (11%); 14% increase
FY2014  123,386 downloads   (pdf/html = 77/23%)

 
Ebook use data:
CARLI/I-Share consortial books: 1,500 views
ebrary/EBL/EBSCOhost books: 619 views, 7 views, 1120 sessions/46 views
2017 EBSCO ebooks 313  (5 heavily used, all Nursing); 161 in 2019
 
DVD (movie) charges:
FY21      93 (COVID)
FY20      70 (COVID closure)
FY19    818
FY18 1,450 and 357 renewals
FY17 1,892 and 337 renewals
FY16 2,227 and 155 renewals
 
Annual Book Circulation: 
FY2021   1,222   (797 first time, 269 renewals, 17 tech equip, 69 Juvenile, 10 Manga, 1 Reserves, 46 Kits, 93 DVDs, 49 New Book) -- NOTE: COVID
FY2020   1,488   (1,157 first time, 331 renewals, 9 tech equip, 55 Juvenile, 10 Manga, 0 Reserves, 66 Kits, 70 DVDs, 23 New Book) -- NOTE: COVID
FY2019   8,636   (5,787 first time,  3564 renewals,  181 laptops, 279 tech equip, 299 Juvenile, 1 Manga, 115 Reserves, 73 Kits, 818 DVDs)  
FY2018 12,835   (5,787 first time,  4,136 renewals,  2,045 laptops, 315 tech equip, 190 Juvenile, 24 Manga, 230 Reserves, 108 Kits, 1,450 DVDs)  
FY2017 17,240   (5,291 renewals, 4,406 laptops, 614 tech equip, 289 Juvenile, 32 Manga, 102 Reserves, 128 Kits)  
FY2016 16,054   (6000 renewals, 74 Reserves, plus 8,000 laptops)
FY2015 14,612   (6,018 renewals, plus 277 Reserves plus 4,000 laptops plus 2,227 DVDs)
FY2014 14,260   (6,095 renewals, plus 3,000 laptop loans)
 

I-Share  Borrow: 

FY2021       279 (COVID)
FY2020    1,361
FY2019    2,064
FY2018    2,379
FY2017    3,351
FY2016    3,786    (26% of our CARLI circulation/use)
FY2015    3,503

 

 

I-Share Loan:    

FY2021       444 (COVID)
FY2020    1,235
FY2019    1,702
FY2018    1,968
FY2017    2,327
FY2016    2,544    (16% of our CARLI circulation/use)
FY2015    2,946

 

On-site borrowing: 778 our users
On-site lending: 4

OCLC (ILLiad/Tipasa): Beyond I-Share consortium
 

FY2021   Borrow submitted: 426
                        filled:  387 (91%) 
                         376 articles (8 received from REPRINTS)                           
                         11 books            
                         In-state:  (28%)
                         Out-of-state:  (72%)

                  Loan submitted: 2,263  
                           filled: 755 (33%) 
                           558 articles (74% of filled),
                           197 books (26% of filled)
                            In-state:  (76%) 
                            Out-of-state:  24(%)

 

FY2020   Borrow submitted: 857
                        filled:  752 (88%) 
                         714 articles (? received from REPRINTS)                           
                         38 books            
                         In-state: 350 (41%),
                         Out-of-state: 402 (59%)

                  Loan submitted: 2,680  
                           filled: 709 (26%) 
                           478 articles (67% of filled),
                           231 books (33% of filled)
                            In-state: 533 (75%)
                            Out-of-state: 176 (25%)

 

FY2019   Borrow submitted: 2,058
                        filled:  1,773 (86%) 
                        1,730 articles (16 received from REPRINTS)                           
                         43 books            
                         In-state: 845 (48%),
                         Out-of-state: 928 (52%)

                  Loan submitted: 2,094  
                           filled: 495 (24%) 
                           287 articles (58% of filled),
                           208 books (42% of filled)
                            In-state: 344 (70%)
                            Out-of-state: 151 (30%)

FY2018   Borrow submitted: 2,100
                           filled: 1,817  (86%) 
                            1,748 articles,  69 books  
                           In-state: 911 (50%),
                           Out-of-state: 908  (50%)
               Loan    submitted: 2,821  
                           filled: 784  (28%) 
                           461 articles (59% of filled),
                           323  books (41% of filled)  
                          In-state: 574  (73%),
                          Out-of-state: 210  (27%)

FY2017   Borrow submitted: 1,541
                           filled: 1,088  (70%) 
                            970 articles, 118 books  
                           In-state: 555 (51%),
                           Out-of-state 533 (49%)
               Loan    submitted: 2,271  (Note: dropped by 33% -- embargo journal requests from ISU Nursing)
                          filled: 687  (30%) 
                           422 articles (61% of filled),
                           265 books (39% of filled)  
                          In-state: 536 (78%),
                          Out-of-state 151 (22%)
 
FY2016   Borrow submitted: 1,746
                           filled: 1,237  (71%) 
                           1,096 articles, 141 books  
                           In-state: 666 (53%),
                           Out-of-state 571 (47%)
               Loan    submitted: 3,201
                          filled: 833  (26%) 
                           513 articles (16%, 61% of filled),
                           320 books (10%, 39% of filled - many Course Text items, being removed from OCLC)  
                          In-state: 582 (70%),
                          Out-of-state 251 (30%)
 
FY2015   Borrow submitted: 2,407 
                          filled: 1,741  (72%) 
                          1,300 articles, 441 books  
                           In-state: 994 (57%),
                           Out-of-state 747 (43%)
               Loan    submitted: 3,855 
                          filled: 1,060  (28%) 
                          698 articles (18%, 66% of filled),
                          362 books (9%, 34% of filled - many Course Text items, now removed from OCLC)  
                          In-state: 781 (74%),

                          Out-of-state 279 (26%)


INSTRUCTION  DATA

Classroom sessions:

FY2021  digital only (COVID)
FY2020 12 before COVID disruption
FY2019 51
FY2018 45  (emphasize embedded online tutorials)
FY2017 58 sessions (Stern 32, Kusik 26)
FY2016 80  sessions (Stern 38, Morgan 14 (6 months), Kohut 20, Kusik 15)
FY2015 89  
FY2014 92
FY2013 37
FY2012 52

 

Classroom attendees:

FY2021  digital only (COVID)
FY2020 103 before COVID disruption
FY2019 1,017
FY2018  901
FY2017  1,065
FY2016  1,391
FY2015  1,413 
FY2014  2,195
FY2013    800
FY2012  1,108

 

Online Quizzes:
900 First Year students per year (87% pass rate)
350 Graduate students per year

 


Gatecount: 
FY21    57,334 (COVID)
FY20  242,782 (COVID)
FY19  353,710
FY18  405,989
FY17  522,563
FY16  498,311  (Scholars Den opened)
FY15  524,932
FY14  541,236

Reference Interactions:

50% in-person, 25% chat/virtual, 10% phone
60% undergrad, 5% grad, 10% faculty, 1% alumni, 2% public, 20% unknown
80% easy, 15% some expertise, 5% complex
 
FY21 800 (COVID closure); busiest: M-F noon-5pm, Th morning, Sun 5-8pm
FY20 3045
FY19 4872
FY18 1756
previous years without staffed desk: 700
 

BUDGET DATA:

  • Total $1,044,349
  • Serials/Journals/Databases: $316,0793   (FY12 to FY20 shows a 25% loss in real buying power)
  • Books: $20,000                                         (FY12 to FY20 shows a 45% loss in real buying power)
  • Operations (contracted services: WorldCat, ILL, I-Share): $46,641
  • Staff:  $381,846 (40% of previous high mark)

 

           Total budget was $1,591,925 in FY2015 = -547,567 = 34% cut

               + 2% inflation per year (4% on half the budget) X 4 = 8% = 42% loss in real buying power

 

Year

UG

Library budget

$/UG

 

     

FA 2012

    2,382

1257656

528

FA 2013

    2,452

1242261

507

FA 2014

    2,557

1184565

463

FA 2015

    2,615

1259474

482

FA 2016

    2,601

1145538

440

FA 2017

    2,638

962075

365

FA 2018

    2,713

901327

332

FA 2019

    2,725

921242

338

FA 2020

    2,878

828689

288


               For additional details see our Collection Development page.

Copyright © 2013 | The Library at Saint Xavier University, 3700 W. 103rd St., Chicago, IL 60655 | Phone (773) 298-3352 | Fax (773) 298-5231 | Email: ask@sxu.libanswers.com | MyMail | MySXU