Use the following tools to discover journal articles on your subjects:
On our News Resources page you can search individual newspapers (New York Times, Chicago Tribune, etc.) or you can search across many newspapers at one time using the Newspaper Source database. These papers may contain reviews and related articles.
Other film reviews may be found using the box "Web Resources for Film Studies".
Our Video web page allows you to search across our 6,000 DVD films and our streaming services.
NOTE: The Library catalog search box (on that page) will search Films on Demand, but will NOT search the Academic Video Online video collection. Those materials must be searched by selecting the collection name Academic Video Online at the top of that column or by searching the direct link below.
Academic Video Online. More than 48,000 video titles spanning essential subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, history, music, film, and more.
Films on Demand. Streaming video database that offers over 20,000 titles, and covers a variety of academic subjects, from producers such as BBC, PBS, Meridian, National Geographic, and more. Links can be shared through email, integrated into Canvas, or viewed in the classroom.
Some example subject headings for books about movies include:
We have selected a few portals to information about Film Studies from across the web:
Film Review Resources:
Selected Organizations and Associations for....
Association Française de Recherche sur l'histoire du Cinéma
French film historians and scholars association. Publishes the journal 1895 on film research, film history, methods and tools.
British Universities Film & Video Council
BUFVC promotes the production, study and use of moving image, sound and related media in higher education and research.
Society for Cinema & Media Studies
Devoted to the scholarly study of film, television, video and new media. Formerly the Society for Cinema Studies.
Fédération Internationale des Archives du Film (FIAF) (International Federation of Film Archives)
Association of film archives, dedicated to rescuing film both as cultural heritage and historical documents.
American Film Institute
Advancing and preserving the art of the moving image. Includes the AFI Conservatory, the AFI Los Angeles International Film Festival, and the AFI's National Center for Film and Video Preservation.
Broadcast Film Critics Association
The Broadcast Film Critics Association is the largest film critics organization in the United States and Canada, representing 169 television, radio and online critics. Includes the Critics' Choice Awards, reviews of new releases, and more.
Centre national de la cinématographie (CNC)
CNC is a French regulatory, promotional and preservational organization for film.
International Documentary Association
Promoting nonfiction film and video, supporting documentary filmmakers, and sponsor of an annual documentary film festival.
Federation of Commercial Audiovisual Libraries International (FOCAL International)
International professional trade association representing film/audiovisual libraries, professional film researchers, producers and others working in the industry.
National Film Preservation Board (Library of Congress)
Includes the National Film Preservation Foundation, Moving Image Archives, National Film Registry, and information on preservation research.
U.S. National Film Registry
In 1988, the (United States) Library of Congress established the National Film Preservation Board, to preserve film deemed "culturally, historically, or esthetically important". Each year, the board selects 25 films to add to the National Film Registry. Herein is the complete list of those films so honoured to date.
American Screenwriters Association (ASA)
Organization dedicated to the promotion of and encouragement of screenwriting as an art form.
Canadian Media Production Association (CMPA)
National association representing independent producers of diverse size and scope working in film, television, and multimedia.
Independent Film & Television Alliance
Formerly known as the American Film Marketing Association (AFMA), IFTA is the trade association for independent motion picture and television production and distribution companies.
Founded by Robert Redford and dedicated to the development of artists of independent vision and the exhibition of their new work. Sponsor of the Sundance Film Festival.
Affordable Film and Video Degrees
CollegeAffordabilityGuide.org analyzed government-collected data on the 5,000+ colleges and universities in the US to find the ones that are both financially accessible for low-income students and have a track record of positive student outcomes. The film and photography page, organized by state and subject, covers important accreditations, related disciplines, and career advice.