Before you search one of subject databases (found within the Subject Guides below), you may want to begin in the Academic Search Complete aggregator which contains fulltext articles from 800 core journals across many disciplines, or in the larger interdisciplinary Central Index database which covers thousands of journals. The broad Central Index database may help you discover related content in secondary fields and/or multimedia material not covered in the journal indexes below.
Start your research on one of our customized subject pages:
Academic Search Complete. Articles from a core set of journals across many fields.
Academic Video Online. Online streaming video on many academic topics, including: American history, area studies, counseling and therapy, criminal justice, ethnic studies, ethnography, nursing, philosophy and religious studies, science, world history, and world languages and literature.
African American Historical Serials. Primary literature from unique historical documents.
African American Music Reference. Essays and images on African American music - blues and jazz, reggae and ragtime, opera and hip-hop.
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals. The AAS Historical Periodicals Collection contains more than 6500 historical periodical titles dating from 1693 to 1877.
America: History and Life. NOTE: replaced by the Central Index database.
American History in Video (Alexander Street).
American Song. Songs by and about children, civil rights, cowboys, immigrants, Native Americans, pioneers, politics, slaves, and war.
Arte Publico: Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1/2. Primary literature from unique historical documents.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials. NOTE: replaced by the Central Index database.
Black Thought and Culture. Collection of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings by major American black leaders.
Business Source Elite Articles, conference proceedings, case studies, investment-research reports, industry reports, market-research reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses. (alternate interface)
Catholic Encyclopedia. Articles on theology, philosophy, history, literary figures, saints, musicians and more.
Chaucer Bibliography Online. Articles on Chaucer.
CHOICE. Reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources by subject.
Chronicle of Higher Education. News, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.
CINAHL Complete. Articles and evidence-based care sheets on nursing and allied-health topics.
Classical Music Library. Online recordings of classical music.
CLEP test. Test found under College Prep section of the Testing and Education Reference Center.
Cochrane Collection Plus. Controlled trials and other health-care interventions.
Communication and Mass Media Complete. NOTE: replaced by the Central Index database.
Contemporary World Music delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent, including reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more.
Counseling and Therapy in Video applied training and research materials available.
CREDO. Dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference sources.
Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video collection that illustrates the strategies, techniques, and experiences of professionals serving on the front lines of justice and public safety.
Dimensions is an experimental search engine that includes citations, altmetrics, grants, and other metadata elements.
Drug Information Portal. From the U.S. National Library of Medicine, containing information on over 36,000 drugs from U.S. government sources.
E-Book Collection. The full text of reference, scholarly, and professional books.
EBL (Electronic Book Library): Our primary ebook platform. Records are searchable in the regular book catalog, but this option offers deeper keyword searching. May be viewed online or downloaded. Download requires an Adobe ID and Adobe Digital Editions (or an alternate ePub Reader app).
EBSCO clusters. Select subject groupings of multiple databases that identify journal articles.
Education Research Complete. Journal articles and e-books.
eHRAF World Cultures. eHRAF World Cultures database contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life. Search by cultures, subjects, regions, and even subsistence types – with subject indexing at the paragraph level. Subjects that are used in indexing and searching the ethnographic texts in eHRAF are based on the Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM), a vast thesaurus of subject terms and descriptions. Comprehensive summaries in Browse Cultures include topics such as: Economy, History and Cultural Relations, Family and Kinship, Sociopolitical organization, and Religion. Cultures Covered lists the all the cultures, ethnic groups and indigenous people currently included in eHRAF.
ERIC. Journal articles and reports dating from 1966 to the present.
Films on Demand. Streaming videos in all topic areas.
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online. Musical genres according to heritage, traditions, and themes.
Google provides free searching of a selection of materials found on the WWW.
Google Scholar provides free searching of a selection of the academic journal literature, but you will need to set our link resolver to have access to all the full-text articles that are available to you through our subscriptions. More comprehensive searches are found in our subject specific journal indexes.
Greenfile. Articles on environmental issues.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments. Reviews of measurement instruments such as questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, and vignettes/scenarios in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, and organizational behavior.
Health Source Nursing/Academic Edition. Articles from medical journals.
Historical Statistics of the United States. Quantitative data on a wide range of topics, including history, economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration, and trade.
Homeland Security Document Library. United States policy documents, presidential directives, and national-strategy documents.
JAMA: Journal of the American Medical Association. Articles from 1998 to the present.
Jazz Music Library is the largest and most comprehensive collection of streaming jazz available online — with thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres.
Journal of Catholic Higher Education. No login required. Click on the volume, table of contents and choose an article. Articles on the knowledge and practice of Catholic higher education in the United States and internationally.
Lexis-Nexis. Journal articles, newspapers (including the New York Times since 2002), wire services, broadcast transcripts, United States federal and state case law. Use the new Nexis Uni interface.
Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts. Articles, books and reports on librarianship.
MAS Ultra. Articles from popular general-interest and current-events publications, plus Magill book reviews, the Columbia Encyclopedia, the CIA World Fact Book, the World Almanac and the Book of Facts.
MEDLINE with Full Text. Articles from medical journals.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print. Reviews of tests.
Middle English Compendium. The Middle English Dictionary, a bibliography, and links to electronic resources.
Military and Government Collection. Articles on military-related journals and general-interest magazines.
Modern Language Association International Bibliography. NOTE: replaced by the Central Index database.
Musical Scores. An Indiana University site where the public can download full scores.
Naxos Music Library. The world´s largest online library of classical music.
Newspaper Source. Articles from regional United States newspapers, international newspapers, and newswires.
Nexis Uni (new interface to the Lexis-Nexis database). Legal and business emphasis from journal articles, newspapers (including the New York Times since 2002), wire services, broadcast transcripts, United States federal and state case law.
Nursing Education in Video Nursing Education in Video is a unique online collection of videos created specifically for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers. All the videos in the collection have been created with the guidance of the Medcom-Trainex advisory board, and are regularly reviewed for accuracy, currency, and compliance with US Federal regulations from agencies such as OSHA and CMS.
Ovid LWW Nursing & Health Professions Premier. Articles from major nursing journals.
Oxford English Dictionary Online. The complete text of the second edition, plus updates.
Oxford Music Online: Includes Grove Music Online and The Oxford Companion to Music offering more than 8,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works. The Oxford Dictionary of Music supplements Grove's extensive articles.
Philosopher's Index. Articles and books in philosophy and related fields. NOTE: replaced by the Central Index database.
Popular Music Library contains a wide range of popular music from around the world, including hundreds of thousands of tracks from major genres in pop music, including alternative, country, Christian, electronic, hip-hop, metal, punk, new age, R&B, reggae, rock, soundtracks and many more.
Primary Search. Articles from popular magazines for elementary-school research, with reading level indicators.
Professional Development Collection. Articles from education journals.
Project Muse. Articles from journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
PsycINFO. Articles and books in psychology and related fields. NOTE: replaced by the Central Index database.
PubMed. Includes more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
PubMed Central. Searches across an archive of full-text biomedical and life sciences journal articles.
Regional Business News. Articles from business journals, newspapers and newswires.
Sage Premier. Articles from journals in business, health, and social sciences.
Sanborn Maps. Large-scale plans used to estimate the potential risk for urban structures in Illinois.
Saskia Art Images. 30,000 digital images of paintings, sculpture and architecture from museums worldwide. The images can be displayed and downloaded in high-resolution format.
SimplyAnalytics. (was SimplyMap) is a web-based mapping, analytics and data visualization program providing 65,000+ data variables. Users have access to demographics (census data), marketing data, consumer behavior (purchasing and product usage data including Consumer Expenditures), market segments, health, and businesses (points-of-interest, establishments, employees, retail sales) for States, Congressional Districts, Counties, Cities/Places, ZIP Codes, Census Tracts and Block Groups. Users can rank locations based on variables, create demographic analyses, map variables and also export data, maps, reports and GIS shapefiles for use outside of SimplyAnalytics. If you sign in as a guest, you won’t need to create an account. Accounts are needed only to save search parameters and data results. analyses, and map variables to the county or sometimes the census Block. If you sign in as a guest, you won’t need to create an account. Accounts are needed only to save search parameters and data results. (Information and help video page.)
Smithsonian Global Sound. Tracks of music, the spoken word, and natural and human-made sounds.
Testing and Education Reference Center. Data on colleges, universities and scholarships, plus online practice tests and test-preparation e-books.
Value Line Investment Survey. Investment information covering equity issues, model portfolios, and economic and stock-market statistics.
Wall Street Journal. Articles from 1984 to the present.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 is a resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history.
WorldCat. Searches over 6,000 library catalogs. Books can be borrowed.