Skip to Main Content

Services for Alumni, Staff, and the Public: Services for Alumni, Staff, and the General Public

Library resources and services for SXU alumni and staff and the general public

COVID Considerations

During the COVID pandemic, due to our limited seating capacity, Alumni may be asked to use other locations for general study space (Scholars Den, cafeteria), and can always access workstations and the wifi network for our online resources in S-108 or L-130. 

SXU Alumni and Staff

SXU alumni

The Library offers select services to alumni and staff of Saint Xavier University. 

The following section describes the services available according to patron type, based upon our contractual arrangements with various commercial and consortial partners.

DATABASES  AND JOURNAL ARTICLES:

Staff can use the Library's databases on and off campus by verifying access with their campus netID credentials. Retired staff can request book lending privileges.

Alumni who have registered with Alumni Relations for Alumni ID cards are automatically updated in the campus Colleague system, which provides access to our databases from library workstations. While Alumni can use the Library's computers to access our databases and electronic books, licensing agreements with database publishers and vendors preclude the off-campus use of our databases and e-books by Alumni.

Alumni have access to the fulltext journal articles included in our packages, but due to contractual limitations, cannot request journal articles from outside sources using our Borrow From Other Libraries service; they should request external journal articles through their local public library.

Alumni who have not registered with the University can still use a variety of public domain tools from on or off campus, and should contact their public libraries which often offer many fulltext databases from home once users register for a public library card.

SXU BOOKS: With a valid Cougar Card or Alumni Card, staff and Alumni can borrow an unlimited number of books from the SXU Library. The borrowing period is eight weeks, and items may be renewed once. Four movies from the Library may be borrowed for fourteen days, and items may not be renewed.

OUTSIDE LIBRARY BOOKS:

Staff with a valid Cougar Card can use the Library's I-Share and interlibrary-loan services to request materials nationwide. 

Alumni must contact their local public library for non-SXU books. Due to CARLI network restrictions, Alumni accounts are not active in the I-Share consortial libraries delivery system.

Library Access Information

Faculty, staff, students, clergy and alumni of Saint Xavier University have priority access to the Library and its resources.

CARLI Researchers: (Consortium of Academic and Research Libraries in Illinois Institutional Membership)

Scholars with valid IDs from participating CARLI reciprocal libraries have permission to use our paper book collection on-site.  Book lending services are available to patrons of other I-Share university libraries in accordance with the agreements that the Library has established with those institutions. CARLI patrons have access to one I-Share workstation to search the book catalog; they must bring their own laptop to have access to the Internet.  CARLI participants requesting access to the library should call the Circulation desk (773) 298-3352 to be admitted into the building. A valid institutional ID card is required, and access will be through the south facing doors located at the west section of the Warde Academic building complex.

General Public: Members of the general public should contact their public libraries which offer remote access to full text databases once users register for a public library card. SXU does not provide access to these public library tools. Due to space and security concerns, only members of the Saint Xavier University community (SXU alumni, faculty, staff, students, clergy) are permitted to use the library for study and research purposes.

ALUMNI: The SXU Office of Alumni Relations welcome alumni to utilize the computers in the Robert and Mary Rita Murphy Stump Library.

  •  Library privileges with a valid SXU netID.
    • Alumni can use the library's computers on campus to access our databases and electronic books. Licensing agreements with database publishers and vendors preclude the off-campus use of our databases and e-books by alumni. Alumni who have registered for new ID cards can access our databases from the library workstations. Alumni who have not registered with the University can use a variety of public domain tools from off-campus and should contact their public libraries, which often offer significant full-text databases from homes once users register for a public library card.
    • SXU Books: With a valid Cougar Card, alumni and staff can borrow an unlimited number of books from the SXU Library. The borrowing period is eight weeks, and items may be renewed once. Four movies from the library may be borrowed for 14 days, and items may not be renewed.
    • Non-SXU Books: Alumni must contact their local public library for non-SXU books rather than utilizing the I-Share consortial libraries delivery system.
    • Alumni will not be able to obtain state-wide books using our I-Share or ILL systems. Alumni will need to request non-SXU books through their public libraries.

See also conduct and responsibilities.

 

Ask a Librarian

Copyright © 2013 | The Library at Saint Xavier University, 3700 W. 103rd St., Chicago, IL 60655 | Phone (773) 298-3352 | Fax (773) 298-5231 | Email: ask@sxu.libanswers.com | MyMail | MySXU