Newspapers, in print or online, are a great resource for students. But the free online editions rarely go back more than about a week, or contain all selections from the print version.
Fortunately, the Library has access to several thousand newspapers from around the country and the world, many dating to the 1800s. The bad news is that there is no single search interface for all of them. You will have to do some digging to find what you need. Some collections focus on legal issues, some on alternative papers, and other aggregators collect articles from across many newspapers.
Because of copyright and other legal issues, photos, videos, and multimedia are usually not available in these databases.
See other types of online news resources at the bottom of the page.
NOTE: Consider these aspects of slanted news.
COLLECTIVE NEWSPAPERS (by topic or containing aggregated content)
U.S. News Map: The News Map features newspapers that are part of the Library of Congress's Chronicling America Historic Newspapers collection that were published between 1789 and 1922. Search by keyword and select start and end dates; see and explore the frequency of the selected search term over time (via a timeline) and across geography (via pins on a map).
Chicago Tribune. Articles from 1985 to the present. For articles from 1849 to 1984, use the Chicago Tribune historical files. Articles are in PDF format, and includes a PDF of the whole page on which the article was found.
Chronicle of Higher Education. News, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.
New York Times. Articles from 1851 to 2010. Articles are in PDF format, and includes a PDF of the whole page on which the article was found. For articles after 2010, use Nexis Uni (new interface to Lexis-Nexis).
Wall Street Journal. Articles from 1984 to the present.
The Xavierite: the student newspaper of Saint Xavier University.The Library has copies from 2002 to the present in the lower level stacks, row 50, call number LD4865 .S27 X38 1979-. Issues dating to 1979 are in Special Collections. In addition, many issues are available online in SXU's archival collection.
The following tools provide web-based news reports.
Consider using a news reader such as Feedly to gather various news channels into one stream.
Pew Research list of top News Sites. A directory of major network channels from CNN, Reuters, BBC, NBC, CBS, ABC, MSNBC and FOX. In addition to the most popular sites based on content, relevance, and popularity.
Alltop allows you to browse through many news services and blogs at one time.
Europe Media Monitor. News Brief provides breaking news from an international perspective.
CEO Express. A portal providing links to news, business information, and much more.
The Pew Research list of most popular news sites.
Analysis of most biased and least biased news sources.
NOTE: To expand the number of search tools to include additional web resources, select the "Expand my results" option on the top left once you see your initial results. This will include far more material from a wider range of available web material.
NOTE: This tool does NOT search our Newspaper Source tool...which is the first place to search, coverage varies, including articles from more than 40 national and international newspapers, and selective full text for almost 400 regional American newspapers. In addition, full text television and radio news transcripts are also provided. Years of coverage vary.