The book catalog identifies books from both our local collection and the state-wide I-Share consortium.
NOTE: The Central Index provides over a million additional free ebooks from the HathiTrust public domain ebooks plus a small number of other ebooks; After your results appear, select "Books" under the Resource Type category on the left to limit to our full text book material. (Short video of how to search the Central Index.) See a page of details about the Central Index.
Our Purchased Ebooks:
Below are some additional full text book catalogs that are temporarily open to all researchers during the COVID-19 disruption. These tools provide even greater support for remote learning during our transition of course support to a primarily online mode.
Large Free Ebook Library:
The Internet Archive maintains the National Emergency Library, a digitized collection of over 1.4 million older books that includes a strong high school academy collection and a strong liberal arts college collection. After creating an account, one individual from an institution can read a digitized copy of a physical book already owned by their institutional library.
HathiTrust Emergency Temporary Access Service:
Students, faculty, and staff will, upon logging in to HathiTrust, have access to copyrighted titles that the library owns and for which we have been able to identify a match through our ongoing holdings analysis. Users will be able to read the book online, in the web browser, but will not be able to download the work in full.
Electronic books provide a variety of options, some familiar from paper books, and others unique to the electronic format.
Some options exist for all versions of ebooks - while some options only exist when you are using an online version (as opposed to downloading to a reader or workstation).
Enhanced options (using either downloaded or online access):
Enhanced navigation options (when using online, NOT after downloading):
Controlled Digital Lending -- an emerging method that allows libraries to loan print books to digital patrons in a “lend like print” fashion. Through CDL, libraries use technical controls to ensure a consistent “owned-to-loaned” ratio, meaning the library circulates the exact number of copies of a specific title it owns, regardless of format, putting controls in place to prevent users from redistributing or copying the digitized version.
Electronic books can read read online or can be downloaded to local devices. Reading ebooks online provides readers with more powerful connections and links to related resources. Downloading makes reading possible when off-line. Both options allow for highlighting, printing, and bookmarking.
If you intend to download portions of ebooks you will need to have the appropriate software, which may differ depending upon the ebook platform. The instructions below should assist most readers in obtaining the basic software required.
1. If you will be downloading an eBook, create an Adobe ID. The programs required to read most of our eBooks will require you to connect an Adobe ID account before you can download anything.
2. Download an appropriate reader program. For PC or Mac, you will want Adobe Digital Editions. This program is similar to Adobe Reader, with the addition of Digital Rights Management. If you are using an iOS or Android device, try Bluefire eReader. There are a number of other free ePub readers for Android as well, and ebrary has published an app for reading their ebooks.
3. Search for an ebook, check it out, or download it. Depending on the device, you can download directly, or download to your computer and transfer it to your device.
See the free materials found in the Bookshare catalog (for alternative formats).
LibriVox audiobooks are free for anyone to listen to, on their computers, iPods or other mobile device, or to burn onto a CD.
LibriVox volunteers record chapters of books in the public domain, and then we release the audio files back onto the net for free. All audio is in the public domain, so you may use it for whatever purpose you wish. Most of the texts are from Project Gutenberg, and the Internet Archive hosts the audio files (for free!).