Skip to main content

Senior Seminar in Reseach Writing: Find Articles

Find articles

Select Articles in Core Journals.  Choose Databases by Subject, Literature Databases, OK. 

Keyword search: Titus Andronicus or "Dulce Chacon" 

Keyword search: Ibsen Doll's House or "Dariush Mehrjui"

Keyword search: "young adult literature" and "literature classics"

 

Where is the Full-Text?

Look for the  icon or the Full Text Finder option. If the article is not available in full-text, click on Request through interlibrary loan link.

Comprehensive Search Tools

An A-Z list of all databases are available here.


Helpful 3 minute tutorials from EBSCO on Basic Search and Advanced Search (taking advantage of Thesaurus and Index searching).

Selected Search Tools

♦ Academic Search CompleteMultidisciplinary database of full-text articles from scholarly journals, magazines, government documents and other sources. Good starting place for basic coverage.

♦ JSTOR. Articles from scholarly journals in the arts and sciences.

♦ MLA  Articles, books,and more on modern languages, philosophy, literatures, folklore and linguistics.

♦ Middle English Compendium Middle English Dictionary, a bibliography, and links to electronic resources.

♦ News Sources: world and historical newspapers; New York Times since 1851.

♦ Philosopher's Index: links to full-text articles in all areas of philosophy.

♦ Project Muse. Articles from scholarly journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences. 

♦ Scopus. Discover citations with some full-text articles in science, medicine, technology, and the social sciences. Includes tracking by citation, and identifying high impact articles.

♦ Shakespeare Bibliography. Articles and books on Shakespeare.

For streaming films, begin here:

♦ Academic Video Online. More than 48,000 video titles on essential subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, history, music, film, and more.

♦ Films on Demand. Streaming video database that offers over 20,000 titles, and covers a variety of academic subjects, from producers such as BBC, PBS, Meridian, National Geographic, and more. Links can be shared through email, integrated into Canvas, or viewed in the classroom.

Search Tips

The following rules of online searching are universal. They apply to all library databases and Internet search engines, whenever the search is by keywords.

The ability to create a search strategy that goes beyond a single keyword or two will dramatically improve the relevancy and focus of the results.

Copyright © 2013 | The Library at Saint Xavier University, 3700 W. 103rd St., Chicago, IL 60655 | Phone (773) 298-3352 | Fax (773) 298-5231 | Email: ask@sxu.libanswers.com | MyMail | MySXU