Skip to main content

Religion Research Tools: Home

Use Keywords to Search for Information

For Facts, Definitions, Background Information:

Our Facts/Definitions page searches hundreds of reliable dictionaries and encyclopedias.

  Also consider:

For News:

On our News Resources page you can search  individual newspapers (New York Times, Chicago Tribune, etc.) or you can search across many newspapers at one time using the Newspaper Source database. These papers may contain reviews and related articles. With links to more than two hundred newspapers, Catholic Newspapers Online (CNO) creates easy access to current issues of many diocesan, national, and student newspapers. 

Peer Reviewed Journals (Expert Opinions and Research):

  • Academic Search CompleteMultidisciplinary database of full-text articles from scholarly journals, magazines, government documents and other sources. Good starting place for basic coverage.
  • ATLA Religion Database Articles from across many religious studies journals.
  • International Medieval Bibliography Articles from across many Medieval studies journals.
  • JSTOR. Articles from scholarly journals in the arts and sciences.
  • MLA  Articles, books,and more on modern languages, philosophy, literatures, folklore and linguistics.
  • News Sources: world and historical newspapers; New York Times since 1851.
  • Philosopher's Index: links to full-text articles in all areas of philosophy.
  • Project Muse. Articles from scholarly journals in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
  • Scopus. Discover citations with some full-text articles in science, medicine, technology, and the social sciences. Includes tracking by citation, and identifying high impact articles.
  • Multiple Database Search Tool: Go here if you know the exact title of an article, i.e., "contingent cubism".  This full-text finder tool will provide direction to the source of the article.
  • Zotero. Cite your sources using Zotero.

Streaming Films and Videos:

  • Academic Video Online. More than 48,000 video titles on essential subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, history, music, film, and more.
  • Films on Demand. Streaming video database that offers over 20,000 titles, and covers a variety of academic subjects, from producers such as BBC, PBS, Meridian, National Geographic, and more. Links can be shared through email, integrated into Canvas, or viewed in the classroom.

Search Hardcopy Books and Videos

Expert opinions can be found in books: see our local book catalog for searching. You may want to expand your search to the I-Share state-wide catalog (using the drop-down option on the top right) or our electronic book page.

This catalog includes many formats, including movies, manuscripts, and e-Books.

Other web resources

Here we list some additional web-based resources of interest:



SOUTH ASIA incorporates: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, the Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka




  • Jewish Virtual Library -- the most comprehensive online resource on Jewish history, politics and culture. Provides  a one-stop shop for users from around the world seeking answers to questions on subjects ranging from anti-Semtism to Zionism.




Copyright © 2013 | The Library at Saint Xavier University, 3700 W. 103rd St., Chicago, IL 60655 | Phone (773) 298-3352 | Fax (773) 298-5231 | Email: | MyMail | MySXU