Skip to main content

Technology and the Reading Specialist (EDGRS 521): Finding Peer-Reviewed Articles

Locate Peer-Reviewed Articles in Scholarly Journals

Scholarly peer review is the process of subjecting an author's scholarly work or research to the scrutiny of others who are experts in the same field before the work can be published.

Generally, a board of scholarly experts evaluate an article for quality of research, adherence to professional best practices, appropriateness of methodology, and whether it adds to the corpus (body) of knowledge in the area of research to which it is directed.

When you cite peer-reviewed research, you lend credibility and authority to your own work.

Use the following resources to locate full text articles in scholarly, peer-reviewed journals:

Multiple Database Search Tool

Searches all of the library's databases in one operation!

Education Research Complete

The definitive online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.

ERIC

Education Resource Information Center contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.

Professional Development Collection

Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles and more than 200 educational reports.

E-Book Collection

Provides full text of reference, scholarly, and professional e-books.  To see education e-books, click on "Education" under the "Browse by Category" sidebar at the left of the screen.

Education Databases (EbscoHost)

Search for articles across several literature databases in one operation.  After opening this resource, click on "Choose Databases by Subject," then select "Literature Databases."

Copyright © 2013 | The Library at Saint Xavier University, 3700 W. 103rd St., Chicago, IL 60655 | Phone (773) 298-3352 | Fax (773) 298-5231 | Email: ask@sxu.libanswers.com | MyMail | MySXU