Skip to main content

Introduction to Corrections (CJ 202): Articles

Introduction to Corrections: A guide designed to assist students with a research paper about special populations group in the correctional system.

Terms

To get you started...

Once you find articles, use the subject terms and words from the abstracts to revise your search. 

 

mentally ill

mental illness

mental depression

suicidal behavior

prison psychology

psychiatric diagnosis

treatment programs

 

prison

jail

detention centers

correctional institutions

incarceration

 

recidivism

reentry

 

women prisoners

juvenile delinquents

life sentences

alternatives to imprisonment

Start your search in subject databases

Following are the best tools to find articles in criminal justice:

Academic Search Complete . Full-text articles from a set of 800 core journals

NCJRS Abstracts Database . A federal-government database. Contains summaries of the more than 220,000 criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources housed in the NCJRS Library collection. Provides more complete coverage of the subject than the database above, but you may have to request some articles from other libraries, so expect a delay of up to three days for the arrival of articles we do not own.

Scopus. Coverage includes articles from related fields. Provides data on how many times an article has been cited by other researchers.

 

How to Read A Scholarly Article

Borrowing from Other Libraries

If the databases do not supply the full text of the article, you can request it from another library.  Read the abstract, or summary, of the article, and if the article might be helpful, be sure to request it. 

Copyright © 2013 | The Library at Saint Xavier University, 3700 W. 103rd St., Chicago, IL 60655 | Phone (773) 298-3352 | Fax (773) 298-5231 | Email: ask@sxu.libanswers.com | MyMail | MySXU