Skip to main content

Zombie Studies: Zombie Studies (journal articles)

Highlights a few perspectives on Zombies.

Starting Research on Zombies

The study of zombies can be approached from a number of perspectives. There are academic studies of the literary characteristics, the psychological and sociological aspects, the religious and philosophical connotations, and even the accuracy of the science.

An article in the Chronicle of Higher Education discusses the growth in this field of study.


Academic Search Complete -- provides coverage in a core set of full text materials across all disciplines.

To obtain an idea of the range of coverage you might find, the following link will perform a search for articles on Zombies across many subject journals. 


Below are search strings that provide the latest articles, as well as breakdowns showing the various facets that can be explored within specific discipline tools.

Zombie Subject Categories -- All Subjects

Database: Academic Search Complete -- coverage is a core set of fulltext materials across all disciplines.

  The search was the one found in the box above. The search was then ranked by subject terms.

The thesaurus provides controlled subject headings assigned to each article.

Thesaurus Term: ZOMBIES
Arranged from most frequent terms.


fiction 208
books -- reviews 140
children's literature 20
zombie films 17
logical positivism 16
consciousness 13
nonfiction 11
dead -- folklore 8
dualism 7
popular culture 7
apocalypse 5
audiobooks 5
horror tales 5
letters to the editor 5
materialism 5
monsters 5
philosophy 5
philosophy of mind 5
popular culture -- united states 5
theory of knowledge 5
video games 5
belief & doubt 4
comic books, strips, etc. 4
folklore 4
ghosts 4
mind & body 4
motion pictures 4
qualia 4
television programs -- reviews 4
young adult literature 4
academic dissertations 3
apocalyptic literature (christian literature) 3
cannibalism 3
capitalism 3
graphic novels 3
horror films 3
horror television programs 3
makeup artists 3
philosophers 3
research 3
vampires 3
world politics 3
amusement parks 2
best sellers 2
brain 2
comedians 2
communicable diseases -- transmission 2
concept mapping 2
dead 2
debates & debating 2

 

Zombies in Literature

Database: Modern Language Association (MLA) -- coverage is an in-depth selection of professional journals and other materials in the field of Language Studies.

Search strategy to provide current articles.

 

Results arranged by frequency of subject headings.


zombie 210
horror film 122
romero, george a. 45
genre conventions 26
american western film 20
voodoo 13
interview 12
capitalism 11
the apocalypse 11
the walking dead (television program) 11
boyle, danny 10
postapocalyptic world 10
vampire 10
violence 10
fiction 9
haiti 9
video game 9
comic film 8
science fiction film 8

Zombies in Psychology

Database: PsycInfo -- coverage is an in-depth selection of professional journals and other materials in the field of psychology.

Search strategy to provide current articles.

 

Results arranged by frequency of major subject heading.


consciousness states45
philosophies 19
mind 16
phenomenology 11
hypnotherapy 9
theories 9
dualism 6
arguments 5
cognition 5
drug therapy 5
films 5
death and dying 4
mental disorders 4
psychodiagnosis 4
self perception 4
syndromes 4
anthropology 3
attention deficit disorder with hyperactivity 3
awareness 3
cognitive science 3
culture (anthropological) 3
doubt 3
 

Zombie Science

Database: SCOPUS -- coverage is a core selection of professional journals across many disciplines.

Search strategy to provide current articles.

 

Results arranged by frequency of subject facets.

SCOPUS Zombie facets

    Zombies(53)
    Consciousness(17)
    Physicalism(10)
    Qualia(10)
    Conceivability(6)
    Article(5)
    Humans(5)
    Cognition(4)
    Computer operating systems(4)
    Epiphenomenalism(4)
    Human(4)
    Materialism(4)
    Perception(4)
    Awareness(3)
    Chalmers(3)
    DDoS Attack(3)
    Dualism(3)
    Entropy(3)
    Film(3)
    Intrusion detection(3)
    Linux platform(3)
    Network simulators(3)
    Philosophy(3)
    Popular culture(3)
    Botnets(2)
    Computer simulation(2)
    Computer software(2)
    DDoS(2)
    DDoS attack(2)
    Equipment testing(2)
    Error rate(2)
    Estimation(2)
    Evaluation results(2)
    Game theory(2)
    Horror(2)
    Infection(2)
    Information technology(2)
    Literature(2)
    Malware(2)
    Meaning(2)

 

Copyright © 2013 | The Library at Saint Xavier University, 3700 W. 103rd St., Chicago, IL 60655 | Phone (773) 298-3352 | Fax (773) 298-5231 | Email: ask@sxu.libanswers.com | MyMail | MySXU