Skip to main content

Plagiarism Resources: Other Resources

Explaining Plagiarism

Important information on plagiarism:


The following resources provide you with a good deal of information about plagiarism. These are well-designed authoritative websites from publishers or universities.
 
  • How to Avoid Plagiarism: A Tutorial - A terrific flash tutorial from the University of Maryland Libraries There are 8 plagiarism avoidance guidelines, each illustrated by an example and a follow-up post-test.  (It is strongly recommended that you go through the tutorial and take the test)

 

  • Plagiarism.org -- from the Learning Center. It is a very well-designed and user friendly source for students and instructors on plagiarism.  Study the various types of plagiarism (e.g., "the ghost writer", "the potluck paper", and 9 other types), plagiarism and the Internet, and plagiarism FAQs.

 

 

 

 

  • Plagiarism and Citation Assistance for Kids - Although its stated audience is kids, this site contains great information on plagiarism and citations for anyone, linking to pages from sources such as Harvard, Georgetown, and the University of Wisconsin at Madison.

 

 

 

Detecting Plagiarism in an Article

Begin with the student's bibliography and search library full-text databases:

Turn It In ... detection software embedded into CANVAS, but the professor needs to turn it on.

 

EBSCOHost databases—e.g.,Multidatabase search, Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete, and Modern Language Association International Bibliography.)

  • To search for words in the text select the "Full Text" limit option, and look for unique words or phrases from the suspect text.

LexisNexis Academic

  • Select "Advanced Search" (on the left) and "Natural Language" as your search type. Search a suspect text string from the student paper.

JSTOR

  • In Advanced Search, mode, use quotation marks (" ") to search for phrases (words together in exact order)

Project Muse

  • Use quotation marks (" ") to search for phrases (words together in exact order).

 

Try searching a suspicious phrase in Google, Google Scholar, or Google Books.

Find the phrase on the page

If the phrase appears in your results, it may be highlighted and easily found. If it isn't, use the "find" function on the browser to go the exact point where the phrase appears.

 

 Adapted from the College of St. Benedict and St. John’s University

Detecting Plagiarism in a Book

Google Books may have all or part of the book available.

Amazon.com may allow you to "search inside the book." Type your text string into the search box, using quotatons. If that exact phrase occurs in any of the Amazon's pages of searchable text, you will be able to view the page online.

Adapted from the College of St. Benedict and St. John’s University

Plagiarism Resources

Articles for class discussion

Adapted from the College of St. Benedict and St. John’s University

Copyright © 2013 | The Library at Saint Xavier University, 3700 W. 103rd St., Chicago, IL 60655 | Phone (773) 298-3352 | Fax (773) 298-5231 | Email: ask@sxu.libanswers.com | MyMail | MySXU