Skip to main content

Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks: Selecting a Topic

Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks

Book Summary

This is a summary of The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks.   A summary highlights the events in the book while a review critiques the value of the book's contents.

Book Reviews or Review Essays from Scholarly Journal

Scholarly book reviews or review essays are different from the book reviews you find in newspapers and popular magazines.  

Scholarly book reviews are written by professors or researchers at universities or research institutions who ground their thoughts in the literature.  The reviews can help you with your projects because they explain the development of the issues, can stimulate ideas, and include references for you to consult. 

Here are a few examples of scholarly book reviews found in the databases Academic Search Complete, CINAHL, and Philosopher's Index by simply typing in the phrase  "Henrietta Lacks"

Subject Encyclopedias

When selecting a topic sometimes it is necessary to gather background information.  Subject encyclopedias are good sources to consult when beginning a project.  Here are several examples of subject encyclopedias.  You can find more by simply keying in encyclopedia and then a subject.  For example....   encyclopedia business     encyclopedia religion  encyclopedia music encyclopedia history


Copyright © 2013 | The Library at Saint Xavier University, 3700 W. 103rd St., Chicago, IL 60655 | Phone (773) 298-3352 | Fax (773) 298-5231 | Email: | MyMail | MySXU