Skip to main content

Nonviolence in Religious Traditions (RELST 299): Articles & Books

Nonviolence in Religious Traditions (RELST 299)

Locating Articles

Consult the A-Z List of Databases.  Read the database descriptions and select the ones appropriate for your topic.

Here are some suggestions:

Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia. Searchable by subject or keywords within the entry.

Academic Search Complete. Articles from over 6,000 journals in many fields.

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials. Journal articles, book reviews and essays.

America: History and Life. Articles and book reviews on United States and Canadian history. For world history since 1450, use Historical Abstracts.

JSTORArticles from scholarly journals in the arts and sciences, sometimes going back to the first issues. The Library subscribes to the Arts and Sciences I–IX and Life Sciences collections.

New York Times. Articles from 1851 to 2008. For articles after 2008, use Lexis-Nexis.

Newspaper Source. Articles from regional United States newspapers, international newspapers and newswires.

Philosopher's Index. A listing (no full text) of books and journals in philosophy and related fields.

Archbishop Oscar Romero -- El Salvador

Google Scholar

A Sample of Interesting Titles at our Library

Do not overlook essays in collected works.  The following three titles are examples.  Several chapters in each of the books are written by people or people representing organizations in your titles are written by or about people listed in the handout Topics for Research Paper.  When you are using the online catalog, sometimes the table of contents will also appear in the book's record.  It is usually in the middle or at the bottom.

Copyright © 2013 | The Library at Saint Xavier University, 3700 W. 103rd St., Chicago, IL 60655 | Phone (773) 298-3352 | Fax (773) 298-5231 | Email: | MyMail | MySXU