Use these resources to find full-text articles in scholarly, peer-reviewed journals:
America: History and Life Articles and book reviews on United States and Canadian history.
Note: You can search across several other history and political science databases while in America: History and Life. After opening America: History and Life, click on "Choose Databases by Subject," then select "History Databases" and "Law/Political Science Databases."
CQ Electronic Library Research reports on United States government, politics, history, public policy and current events.
Ethnic Newswatch Articles from alternative-press newspapers, magazines and journals.
JSTOR A digital archive of scholarly journals in history and the humanities, many going back to first issues.
Resources for Advanced Research
GPO (Government Printing Office) A listing (no full text) of all types of United States government documents, including congressional reports, hearings, debates, records, judiciary materials and documents issued by executive departments.
Historical Statistics of the United States Quantitative data on a wide range of topics, including history, economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration, and trade.
Homeland Security Document Library United States policy documents, presidential directives and national-strategy documents, plus theses and reports from various universities, organizations and local and state agencies.
International Medieval Bibliography Indexes articles, notes, and similar literature on medieval subjects in journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays. Covers all aspects of medieval studies within the date range of 400 to 1500.
Military & Government Collection Articles on military-related journals and general-interest magazines.
Resources for General Reference and Basic Research
Academic Search Complete Articles from over 6,000 journals in many fields.
Academic Video Online Online streaming video on many academic topics.
American History in Video Newsreels, archival footage and important documentaries.
American Song Songs by and about children, cowboys, immigrants, Native Americans, pioneers, slaves and others. Songs about politics and civil rights, war and peace.
Chicago Tribune For newspaper articles in the Chicago Tribune from 1985 to the present.
Chicago Tribune historical files For newspaper articles in the Chicago Tribune, 1849 to 1984.
HarpWeek Articles from the 19th-century illustrated newspaper Harper's Weekly (1857–1912).
New York Review of Books Full text of every article dating from 1963 to the present. You must be on-campus to use the NYRB; there is no off-campus access.