Skip to main content

Biological Sciences: oldBiology

Begin your research in the biological sciences and find articles, books, journals, videos, and more.

Search Our Databases


Core Journals (many have associated fulltext articles):

Advanced Searching Options (citation tracking, controlled subject searching, multimedia):

  • Academic Video Online. Online streaming video on many academic topics.
  • Films on Demand. Streaming videos in all topic areas, including physical science, searchable by subject, title, or special collection.
  • Government Information. Search for government reports and research results.
  • Greenfile. Articles on global warming, pollution, recycling, renewable energy, sustainable agriculture and environment-friendly building.
  • Index to Organism Names. Contains the organism names and related data gathered from Zoological Record, BIOSIS Previews, and Biological Abstracts.
  • PubMed. Includes more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
  • The Scientific and Medical ART (SMART) Imagebase. High-quality illustrations and animations depicting anatomy, physiology, surgery, diseases, conditions, trauma, embryology, and histology.
  • Scopus. Articles in science, mathematics, medicine, technology, and the social sciences. Scopus provides citation tracking. List of Scopus journals in biology.

Comprehensive Searching of Journals, Conference Materials, Etc:

  • SciFinder Scholar. Searches chemistry research within the Chemical Abstracts database, including chemical substances and reactions, and structure searching, New users must complete an individual registration, and an SXU email address is required.

Subject-Specific Portals (for various non-published information ... teaching tools, equipment, software, etc.):

  • BEN portal -- BioSciEdNet ... teaching resources, Meetings information, and other community tools.

                    ***************************************** NOTE **************************************************

The following tools are searched within the tools above ... use the options above for more complete discovery:



Simultaneously search multiple databases

More on Biology

Student Toolkit

Copyright © 2013 | The Library at Saint Xavier University, 3700 W. 103rd St., Chicago, IL 60655 | Phone (773) 298-3352 | Fax (773) 298-5231 | Email: | MyMail | MySXU