Skip to main content

Introduction to Criminal Justice (CJ 101): Articles/Journals

The guide is to help students locate the documents necessary to complete their assignment prepared by Dr. Alderden for CJ 101: Introduction to Criminal Justice.

Examples of Peer Reviewed Journals & Professional Magazines

The links are to the publication's web site, which describes the journal or professional magazine.

  • Examples of peer reviewed journals:

Police Practice and Research
Journal of Investigative Psychology and Offender Profiling
Police Quarterly
Journal of Ethnicity in Criminal Justice

  • Examples of professional magazines:

        FBI Law Enforcement Bulletin
        Police Chief
        FOP Journal
        Corrections Today

Start your search in subject databases

Following are the best tools to find articles in criminal justice:

Academic Search Complete . Full-text articles from a set of 800 core journals

NCJRS Abstracts Database . A federal-government database. Contains summaries of the more than 220,000 criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources housed in the NCJRS Library collection. Provides more complete coverage of the subject than the database above, but you may have to request some articles from other libraries, so expect a delay of up to three days for the arrival of articles we do not own.

Scopus. Coverage includes articles from related fields. Provides data on how many times an article has been cited by other researchers.


Peer Review in 5 Minutes

Copyright © 2013 | The Library at Saint Xavier University, 3700 W. 103rd St., Chicago, IL 60655 | Phone (773) 298-3352 | Fax (773) 298-5231 | Email: | MyMail | MySXU