Skip to main content
Banner Image

Introduction to Latino/Latin American Studies (LS 101): Home

Begin your search here for LS 101. Find books, articles, DVDs, and streaming videos about Latinos or Latin America.

Basic Search Tools


General Reference

Collins Spanish Dictionary

LANIC—Latin American Network Information Center. Web-based resource guides on a wide variety of subjects, including economy, education, humanities, and society and culture.

 

Search Core Journals

Academic Search CompleteArticles from core journals in many fields; most with full text. Not comprehensive.

Additional Databases

Academic Video Online. Online streaming video on many academic topics.

America: History and Life. Articles and book reviews on United States and Canadian history. Saved searches for scholarly, full-text articles on Hispanic AmericansLatin AmericaLatinos, and Mexico

American History in Video. Newsreels, archival footage, and important documentaries. 

American Song. Songs by and about children, cowboys, immigrants, Native Americans, pioneers, slaves, and others. Songs about politics and civil rights, war and peace.

Chicago Tribune. Articles from 1985 to the present. For articles from 1849 to 1984, use Chicago Tribune historical files.

CQ Electronic Library. Research reports on United States government, politics, history, public policy, and current events.

Ethnic NewsWatch. Articles from ethnic and alternative Journals, magazines, and newspapers.

Films on DemandStreaming videos in all topic areas, searchable by subject, title, or special collection. Subject include Hispanics, Latin America, Mexican-Americans, and Mexico.

GPO. A listing (no full text) of all types of United States government documents, including congressional reports, hearings, debates, records, judiciary materials, and documents issued by executive departments.

Homeland Security Document Library.United States policy documents, presidential directives, and national-strategy documents, plus theses and reports from various universities, organizations, and local and state agencies.

JSTOR. Articles from scholarly journals in the arts and sciences, sometimes going back to the first issues. The Library subscribes to the Arts and Sciences I–X and Life Sciences collections.

LANIC—Latin American Network Information Center. Web-based resource guides on a wide variety of subjects, including economy, education, humanities, and society and culture.

The New York Times historical files. Articles from 1851 to 2010. For articles after 2010, use Lexis-Nexis.

Ask a Librarian

Copyright © 2013 | The Library at Saint Xavier University, 3700 W. 103rd St., Chicago, IL 60655 | Phone (773) 298-3352 | Fax (773) 298-5231 | Email: library@sxu.edu | MyMail | MySXU