Skip to main content

History of Mathematics (MATH 308): Articles

History of Mathematics (MATH 308)

Databases

Search the following databases for all topics in mathematics. While some of the databases overlap in their content, each has a unique focus and depth of indexing. There are also two ways to search for articles in your subject areas: from the single search box on the library homepage  where you can select the tab Journals; or by searching individual databases by selecting the tab Databases, also from the library homepage. There are advantages and disadvantages to both methods and I recommend that you try them to learn the differences and choose your preferences.

Note: You will need to log in with your Cougar Net Id when accessing the databases off campus.

Academic Search Complete --- This popular multidisciplinary database with full-text articles is a good place to start your search.

Scopus. Articles in science, mathematics, medicine, technology, and the social sciences. Scopus provides citation tracking. List of Scopus journals in mathematics.

  Related Tools:

Historical Abstracts ---  A listing with some full-text of articles and book reviews on world history, including topics in the history of mathematics, since 1450.

America: History & Life --- A companion database for American and Canadian history.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar covers many journals, but it is not as comprehensive as the Databases located in the box on the left.

You will want to set your browser to link to our full text holdings ... as described on our Google Scholar Information page.

How to Search

  1. Select the most descriptive keywords or concepts. Example: Search for articles on women in ancient Greek mathematics

  2. Combine the keywords with AND to retrieve relevant articles. Example: women AND ancient AND greek AND mathematics

  3. Search by specific phrases in quotation marks.  Example: "women in ancient greek mathematics" Note: Phrase searching is very specific and may provide relevant, though limited number of sources.

Copyright © 2013 | The Library at Saint Xavier University, 3700 W. 103rd St., Chicago, IL 60655 | Phone (773) 298-3352 | Fax (773) 298-5231 | Email: ask@sxu.libanswers.com | MyMail | MySXU